Fall … wait

Last week my mom visited. I had a nice visit with her and we even visited 2 yarn stores.

We were prepared for rain. And it didn’t happen. It got hot. Really Hot. Like summer hot. It was wonderful.

I started that sweater I have been wanting to start since mom sent me that yarn from Convergence. And I frogged it. Charted it and restarted it. I am very happy with it. I also finished my knee highs on the way to the airport to pick mom up. Sadly I have not worked on Catkin. I DID buy buttons for it and the new sweater.

Yesterday Jim wanted to go buy a new tool chest. Nadia and I went with him and then since he ended up having to shop around I had him drop us off at the book store. I ended up buying a new book. Modern top-down knitting. Funny. I just started my first top down sweater. I didn’t really buy it for any technique, but for the wonderful dress and sweater patterns. After getting the book we went to the craft store next door. I found some bamboo crochet thread and some purse clasps. I need to make a knitting repository for Nadia’s new around town stroller. The tupper ware bucket does not fit. I had been thinking of making a few of those nifty project bags. Not sure I like the zippers on them, but maybe an invisible zipper might not snag yarn. Anyway, I ran out of time before I could really get through the store.  What I need to look for next is some fabric to make Nadia a Mei Tei. I want some knitted jersey for shoulder straps so that I don’t pull my clavicle out of joint (again).

I started cooking dinner for tonight. I can smell wonderful scents wafting through the house. I love using a slow cooker. I need a new one. The pot on this one is slowly degrading.

So Jim is outside right now mowing away all the leaves that have fallen. Most of the leaves are gone from our trees. I should go to the barn today and ride my horse. I want to, but I just don’t feel like it. sigh. I need to get back into the groove before it snows … then it will be too cold to ride outside.

Maybe I’ll just knit some more and then go when the kids get home.

About Elisa

I am an obsessive compulsive knitter and a new parent. I work mostly part time as a large animal veterinary technician with my husband. Life has thrown us some giant curve balls and we moved back to Wisconsin in 2008. We are slowly coming to grips with the arctic winters and fantasize about moving to some tropical paradise and raise our 3 children.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

