discussions of mink

Jim and I drove to Eau Claire today to get our taxes done. I found out I don’t have to file this year. Oh boy, the excitement.

On the way home he was discussing one of his most recent ideas – cement. I was staring out the window thinking all sorts of things, when laughter struck me. How many conversations of Lint have we had in the last 3 years? How many variations of conversation can we have on the topic of Lint? How can we make THAT profitable? Who else could bear to have such a conversation like that with me – other than friends who relish Lint that is. I can’t think of anyone in the past.

and in Lint, I am referring to Yarn or Fiber to make Yarn.

So this conversation lead to our discussion on Mink. PETA I’m sure would have a field day with the direction this conversation took. But in some strange way, I thought that possibly we could come up with a Vegan form of Mink wool. I mean, there is a significant number of the little biesties in our area, who have their very own special Veterinarians who cater (I should know, Ive met them at a WVMA conference) to their particular afflictions that spread hither and yon. Mink could never survive on their own, we have bred them like corn – incapable of surviving without human inter(ferance)vention. So, instead of harvesting their pelts for coats, why not come up with just the right way to harvest their fur to make into yarn? It seems that adding mink to yarn is the newest rage. I’d LOVE to get my hands on a skein of mink yarn. Chinchilla yarn is LOVELY, but mink unlike chinchilla are vicious. Have you ever seen the muzzles and gloves a person needs to use in order to interact with one?

So the discussion hinged on proper restraint techniques from isoflouraine to tazing the mink… and could we pluck the fiber from them or would we have to shave them? Shaving only reduces the quality of the fiber and its ability to stay in a strand of yarn.

We also discussed the robotic milking parlor and how it may accommodate sheep.

About Elisa

Life changes. Its not easy. I have made a few U turns and found myself Home. Lets see how it goes and maybe throws in some knitting
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

