Fall has arrived unexpectedly

I think it happened Sunday. I do remember Saturday we went to the Wisconsin Sheep and Wool Festival.

I’ve been trying to go for the past 4 years.

I managed to control myself and only bought 2 skeins of yarn and 1 bag of Shetland wool from a small auction.

  I scoured the two market place buildings. The first building was so busy I had to go around twice. By that time Jim had already been through the other building with Mark. Libby was helping me with Nadia and her stroller on the second go round. The booths were way too small to fit her stroller into.

The second building I was not quite so thorough with. I managed to find Miss Bab’s half way through and Nadia and I went in immediately. She grabbed at all sorts of women and their yarns. I picked the New York color way from the Yet line. It had the yardage I was looking for.

  It took some time and a little help, but I found Obsidian to go with it. They even let me take the skeins outside to check their colors. I originally picked a green color that was already in the New York color way, but I wanted something that would stand out more.

Especially since I was specifically looking for a yarn to make Catkin.

It called for a sock yarn, but I could not find one I liked with the yardage and in a reasonable price range to make it. Yet had the yardage and not too much silk in it. I loved the price even better and the colors were JUST AMAZING. I don’t have that to say about a lot of hand dyed yarns. Most look like something I could do on my own at home. Others are just so expensive and there are no special fibers in them.  I am seriously considering trying Miss Bab’s sock yarn. It’s about the same price range as some other high quality INDY yarns. It has BFL in it, wish I always though was less costly than merino, but I remember spinning BFL for my sister in law’s wedding shawl. I loved working with the fiber. I bet I would love to have it on my feet. And the colors that are available are amazing.

So here is my swatch. I made two just to make sure I had the color combination just right for this project.

I now need 8 buttons.

I have already started and I have about 35 rows knit already. Its a nice change from my sock.

 

Oh, and since it is fall already – sigh – I have been itching to start that sweater I have been trying to design.  I need to order a 9″ needle for the sleeves. And I have been thinking about knitting a blanket… I have already purchased a tarp to make an out-door blanket, but I don’t have any other materials to make the blanket with… Thinking a thick-ish quilt.

Something about this weather is making me feel more normal. I really really want to make stuff. Its a nice feeling since most of my energy lately has been non existent.

 

Oh, and my car smells GREAT! I have yet to bring the fleece in from the car. I am worried the cats might try to eat it.

About Elisa

Life changes. Its not easy. I have made a few U turns and found myself Home. Lets see how it goes and maybe throws in some knitting
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

