Parenting FASD

I am exhausted. I am frustrated.

I have been knitting quite a bit, and eventually got started on the skirt to go with the knitted blouse.

I have even “worked” a few days in the last month. I also went on a great 2 hour trail ride, that I trotted almost the whole way… and now I am having a FMS flair. Not bad 3 days later. Therapy for it is going ok, and a new rheumatologist is seeing me in 2 weeks.

Nadia is still teething and now is having some stomach upset.

 

What I am really frustrated with right now is that there is no advice or recommended way to parent a child with FASD. Only, you cant change the child, so change the environment. No one gets it. I have read a few books that teach parenting skills for other behavior issues, but not all the solutions or techniques can carry over to FASD.  There is just the on purple book, and our child cant communicate well enough for most of those strategies to work.

So I spend too much time surfing the web looking for more articles and YouToube videos that just might have some other way to look at it….

About Elisa

Life changes. Its not easy. I have made a few U turns and found myself Home. Lets see how it goes and maybe throws in some knitting
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Parenting FASD

  1. Jeff says:

    Raising someone living with Fetal Alcohol is the hardest job in the world hands down! If you’re looking for another way on how to handle the daily rigors, check our website and facebook group. I think it just might be what you’re looking for.

    http://www.facebook.com/fetalalcoholforever
    http://www.fasdforever.com

    Look forward to chatting wtih you soon.

    Jeff-

Leave a Reply

