Its been a while

I was just thinking that tomorrow is my Birthday.

Which made me think about how important it used to be, and how important it is for me when its my kid’s birthday…

That led me to remember that a friend of mine once said that she thought calling children “kids” was demeaning.

Kid

  1. noun. Informal. A child or young person
  2. noun. (used as a familiar form of address)
  3. noun. a young goat
  4. noun. leather made from the skin of a kid or goat, used in making shoes and gloves.
  5. noun. a glove made from this leather. 
  6. Verb. to give birth
  7. adjective. made of kidskin.
  8. adjective Informal. younger: his kid sister.

 

Anyway. there is another definition for kid, but its not related. 

How is this demeaning for children? Even knowing a little history of how the word began to be used for children does not seem demeaning. 

So I now find myself trying to use “children” instead. Like I need one more obsession?

 

Somehow I might have ruptured a disc in my neck. I have the damage to 2 vertebrae that is typically associated  with a ruptured disc. The only way to truly tell is to have an MRI. 

NO thank you. I can think of better ways to spend the money than having a diagnostic service that feels like having my head drilled. Shit, I can have my head drilled for free.

My Dr sent me to her chiropractor for my shoulder. Thats how I found out its not my shoulder bothering me. its my neck. Go figure.

It has completely ruined my knitting life. Occasionally my existence too. Like every time it starts to feel better, something happens to make it worse. yesterday it was combing my hair. The time before it was sitting on the couch.

Not much knitting is getting done. sigh.

The other thing I have been thinking a lot about is writing. 

What I should write on the blog of course. And what else can I write about?

I used to write poetry in high school. But that was depressing. I want to write something big. Like a book. And I need a better voice. So I dont write. I just think.

I want to go back to school sometime. Finish finish finish. But I dont know what I want to do. 

I have one more chart to go on Nadia’s cape. I also started a tank top out of some lace weight/fingering yarn my mom sent me. I have about 6″ knit. Thats about half I think. Its in the round on US 3. Its brown. Oh so exciting.

Stitches is coming. I want to feel inspired!

About Elisa

Life changes. Its not easy. I have made a few U turns and found myself Home. Lets see how it goes and maybe throws in some knitting
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

