It’s all white

The Republicans can’t argue Global Warming anymore… Well, at least that we have had a disastrous impact on our environment over the last 10 years. Significant proof is obviously the last 2 years of weather.

We purchased Chasing Ice before Christmas and watched it at home and at my In Laws in Ohio.
Beautiful and scary documentary movie.

What does that have to do with Today?

There is at least 2 feet of snow on my back deck right now. This is of course after 4 months of sublimation and more snow.
I think snow is beautiful. There is something magical about it. Even without Christmas involved. Now that I live in Wisconsin, it’s even more obvious.

I spent 10 years in Nebraska and thought there was never enough snow. I never had the opportunity to go sledding.
My first winter here not only did I go tubing, but I went “skiing” twice.

I love seeing all the seasons here as well. However, they are not all equally divided. Typically Winter is the longest. The longest and coldest winter I remember was 2010. When Nadia was born.

This year,2013, has just been COLDER. I think “at least there is snow, and it lends beauty”. It lends a sort of insulation. One that can only be enjoyed visually right now.

Knitting

The weather makes me wish I could knit as fast as I used to. I could be enjoying 4 sweaters, give or take. Or 1 Orenburg shawl, knit and spun.

Mostly it makes me want more color and scarves around my neck.
Which seems to be the normal sentiment in Blogville.
I have spent most of my time looking for something to knit, or for inspiration for my own designs.
I have found inspiration in a type of short row knitting called Swing Knitting.
Oh the shawls/wraps/scarves!

Stitches West is fast approaching. As is my trip to visit my Mother. Haha!
Stitches is the excuse we use to visit. It’s amazing that a yarn convention is stronger than any other holiday. We are SO lucky it does NOT coincide with a holiday, otherwise I’m sure there would be a zillion scheduling conflicts.

Have you ever been in a mood where you desperately want to knit, need to knit something, but have nothing you want to have those emotions/memories knit into?
I guess that would be a perfect time to knit those swatches, but then they might not be correct for some people, myself included.

About Elisa

Life changes. Its not easy. I have made a few U turns and found myself Home. Lets see how it goes and maybe throws in some knitting
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

